Kindle Forum banner

How important is the cover when you decide to buy

7K views 35 replies 25 participants last post by  evpseeker 
#1 ·
I recently talked to a major buyers for one of the national bookstores and learned many interesting facts. However, when you buy on line, how important is a cover to you? Feel free to check my new cover out and tell me if you like it or not.
Beth Gray
Author of the Stacy McCray Series
see a review that came out today here http://ow.ly/iZ3Z

#2 ·
I'm on the fence on that one. In some ways as a reader, if I don't already know the writer's style and like it then I'll go by the cover. I mean, I can't tell you the number of romances I've bought mainly for the cover.  :-[ Some have been good and I've stuck with that author and others have gone the way of Goodwill.
Then there's been cases when I've been hooked by a description, blurb, or word of mouth and ignore the cover.

As a writer, I've learned that covers can make or break a book so I've tired to now go with more eyecatching covers...true that doesn't apply yet to my Kindle cover because I kept it different than my paperback version but I also can't quite figure out how to change the cover on it either. I think a cover should have a feel of the genre or plot and not be too basic but then you can't go by me since I do a lot of my decision making based on feelings.

#3 ·
Beth,