Kindle Forum banner

New to Kindle: DTP or HTML?

5K views 26 replies 11 participants last post by  Edward C. Patterson 
#1 ·
Lasses/Laddies,

I'm new to Kindle, and I have read the Publishing on Kindle: Guidelines for Publishers, v1.1, 72pp. guide, and I must admit I'm confused. If a lad has a breathless manuscript on interstellar travel, 100,000 words, and figures to publish on Kindle, why would the lad not use Digital Text Platform with a Word document instead of thrashing his way through an HTML realization through Mobigen or similar? I am sure I'm missing something, because it looks like anyone would simply use the DTP and not bother with HTML. So there must be a reason that 60 pages of the Guideline are dedicated to HTML. Though I'm sure this has been covered before, I'd appreciate some links.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

-Captain Rob

#2 ·
Welcome to KindleBoards Rob, I'm not an author, and have no idea what you're talking about... however I bet the other authors on the board do. You should post again over in the Book Bazaar. I believe there is an Author Support Thread over there.

Good luck! =)

#3 ·
Like Jason, I'm not an author and have no answer for you. 
But I would like to welcome you to KindleBoards. 
I'm sure someone will pop in later today and steer you in the right direction.
Looking forward to more of your posts.
deb

#4 ·
Captain Rob,

Having just gone through the somewhat confusing and arduous process myself, I can tell you that HTML is worth it. If you have any background with HTML, and can manipulate your manuscript's formatting using tags, it makes for a far more controllable and cleaner outcome...

Secondly, whether you upload an HTML doc, WORD doc, PRC file (Mobipocket) - the DTP has a mind of its own. It is not a fool-proof simulator, unfortunately, though it does serve its purpose well!!! It seems that the DTP ultimately takes whatever you give it and turns it into a PRC file, so using Mobipocket Creator is a good second step.