Author Topic: Questions About Writing (Sci-fi/Fantasy)  (Read 14142 times)  

Offline JHall

• View Profile
Questions About Writing (Sci-fi/Fantasy)
« on: March 08, 2013, 12:04:22 AM »
I am new to fiction writing, and I am looking for some advice/opinions on about how I should go about this. I am working on writing a a full-length sci-fi/fantasy novel mix. It is aimed at gamers (I am Game Journalist/Reviewer), so there is the "out-of-game" side of things(Sci-fi), and the "in-game" side(Fantasy). So far I have written four chapters (plus a very bad prologue), which comes out to around 22,000 words.

Right now, my biggest questions are: There is basically no conflict until the very end of the third chapter, and that conflict consist of the protagonist being mugged. Is this OK for a sci-fi/fantasy novel?

Other than that, is it alright if my protagonist starts out as someone that the reader wont like? I've shown the story to someone I know, and some of the feedback he gave me said he thought that the protagonist wasn't a very good character. Sense then, I have tried to expand his 'personality' a bit so that the reader can get to know him better, but he's still the same guy.

And my last question (for now) has to do with formatting. I enjoy reading books that have spaces between paragraphs. Because of this, when I write, I have spaces between my paragraphs. Is this something I should change? I am aware that the "traditional" way to do it is to have no spacing between paragraphs. To clarify, I have indention's and spaces between paragraphs.