Kindle Forum banner

Kindle 2 review (comparing to Kindle 1)

7K views 15 replies 11 participants last post by  cheerio 
#1 ·
Okay, so I received a refurbished K2 the other day.  I have been using the K1 since about this time last year, so I have a lot of experience with it already.  That being said, I am not sure whether I think the K2 is a big improvement or not. 

The K2 is about the same size as the K1, it's just a little longer.  For some reason, however, it feels heavier.  Perhaps it's the metal back on it.  In my opinion, the K1 is easier to hold, though, as the wedge shape seems more fit for my hand if I'm holding it with my left hand (as I often do). 

The 16 shades of gray in the K2 make pictures and diagrams a lot clearer, though I only have a few books that this applies to.  Other than that, the text is, in my opinion, about the same for either the K1 or the K2.  No real improvement on text.

The page turns are definitely faster in the K2.  For the K1, I usually have to anticipate when I will need to turn the page to continue reading smoothly, but the K2 is almost instantaneous.  This is a big improvement to me. 

So far, the battery life doesn't seem to be much better on the K2.  In fact, it almost seems like the battery on my K1 lasts longer before I even notice a depletion.  Perhaps I've just been using the K2 more the last few days, but I'm not sure.

Yes, the K2 can hold more books in the device itself, but I've heard mixed reviews about what this does to the battery life on the K2, so I'm not sure I would ever really put more than the amount the K1 can hold internally anyway.