Kindle Forum banner

Maybe This Will Help Someone

7K views 76 replies 61 participants last post by  41413 
#1 ·
My name is Robert J. Crane and I'm an indie author who's still working at filling up his own bookshelf. Have been since I published my first book in the summer of 2011, felt it in my hands, flipped through the pages. Is there any better feeling after laboring for months on a work than finally having it right there, where you can wave it at others and say, "This is something I wrote!" It comes with a glee that doesn't diminish with subsequent volumes, at least it hasn't for me, though I suppose I am a little more jaded now than I was then.

Some of you know me, most of you probably don't, and honestly I would have kept it that way but for some lovely notes from such Kboard luminaries as Joe Nobody and LT Ryan suggesting I could possibly benefit new authors by virtue of my experience (AKA that period of bitter struggle that most of us go through at some point) have dragged me back. I joined Kboards in June of 2012, only a year and a half ago, and at the time I'd sold a cumulative 172 books. Now, a brief eighteen months later, I've sold over 100,000 books, pretty much all the last twelve months, almost all of them at $4.99 or higher. So, I'm no Russell Blake or SM Reine, but I do all right.