Author Topic: Write Police Procedural Without Experience?  (Read 696 times)  

Offline TromboneAl

• Name IRL: Al Macy
    • View Profile
Write Police Procedural Without Experience?
« on: October 31, 2016, 09:15:55 AM »
Yesterday's Thief and my WIP involve a PI with mind-reading capabilities. In the next book, I'm considering having him work together with his police-detective friend.

This will put me into the police procedural genre. I have no firsthand experience with police procedures.

Do you think that with some obsessive research, I can write a book like that without falling into the pitfalls of unrealistic details?

Al Macy | Web Site | Facebook | Twitter

Offline Olivia Westbrook

• Author of the Hub of Spies series
    • View Profile
    • Follow me on Twitter!
Re: Write Police Procedural Without Experience?
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2016, 09:23:42 AM »
I'm no expert, but I think it can be done. You're always told to write what you know, but if we only wrote what we knew from direct experience, our books would probably be rather dull. I don't think Dennis Lehane has any experience as a private investigator, but his Kenzie/Gennaro PI series is absolutely wonderful. Many writers research, and so I think if you're dedicated to getting it right, you can make it work!
Hub of Spies #1: 0%

Offline KelliWolfe

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2016, 09:28:43 AM »
I've never lived on Mars, danced at Almack's, dated a billionaire, or driven a Ferrari 488 GTB, but I've written about people doing all of those things. With enough research you can tackle anything.