Author Topic: Could you write without a computer?  (Read 2688 times)  

Offline Blue Kincaid

• College Park, MD
    • View Profile
    • BlueKincaid.com
Re: Could you write without a computer?
« Reply #50 on: February 03, 2014, 12:48:49 PM »
I'd find a way to write no matter what. I started out in notepads as a kid in school when I should have been taking notes, I graduated to an electric typewriter when I was 19 and wrote my first novel on it. I could go back if there was no choice. Would I like it? Of course not, but writing is too integral to my life and sanity to ever stop.

Offline Lia Cooper

• Olympia, WA
    • View Profile
    • Lia Cooper -- Speculative Romantic
« Reply #51 on: February 03, 2014, 03:15:37 PM »
I still do a lot of outlining and even first drafts by hand in a composition book but when it comes to making up a complete document/full draft I would not ever want to do that without a computer (or Scrivener for that matter).

Lia Cooper | Blog | Twitter

Offline Sam Rivers

• Planet Earth
  • Sci Fi Writer
    • View Profile
« Reply #52 on: February 06, 2014, 08:38:26 PM »
I constantly use the Internet when I am writing to do research or look up new words.  For us that grew up in an age before computers, it is like magic.

I was talking to my doctor about that the other day and he said computers have made his life a lot easier too.

This week has been cold and snowy so I spent most of my time writing on my novels and short stories.  It was too cold to go outside so it was wonderful that I could do something with my computer.  I haven't been able to go to the YMCA since Monday because of the snow and the low temperatures.

Yesterday it didn't get above zero and today wasn't much better.  Last night it got down to 18 below.  That is very unusual for southern Colorado, but the next few days are supposed to get warmer unless that weather guy is lying again.  ::)
Everything is theoretically impossible, until it is done.

Robert A. Heinlein

Offline Nic