Author Launch - turn-key sites for authors

Author Topic: 15,000 books in two months, 32,000 books first year. Advice for newbies!  (Read 74228 times)  

Offline SA_Archer

• View Profile
Annie:
Thank you so much for doing this. I'm not a newbie by any means but somehow, your post hit me at the right time to give me a bit of hope.

I've been avoiding a lot of posts because I get so depressed reading the phenomenal sales numbers other writers chat about.

I totally feel you on this. And you're right. Annie's encouragement and the way she's been so giving in this post was a blessing for me, too.

Thank you, Annie!

Offline anniejocoby

• View Profile
i am having a slow day... what's read-through rate?

btw i think Tattooed Warrior also has a very high book production rate and i think he too self-edits.

:) Read through rate is basically the percentage of people who pick up Book One and go on to buy Book Two. Mine used to be extremely low, now it's really high, which means that I can sell more books with less freebies given away. A lot less freebies have to be given away now then before. I have found that other posters say the exact same thing - that read-through rate grows and grows and grows. So, if the read-through rate starts out slow (mine started out at 3%, is now 12% for Beautiful Illusions and 25% for Broken), don't get discouraged. That number will build on itself through the months.

Two dollars! Two dollars! I want my two dollars!!!
Annie Jocoby | ]Badge[/url] | Annie Jocoby website

Offline anniejocoby

• View Profile
How big of a cliffhanger do you leave? A main character in dire danger? A minor character in danger? Or have you 'won the battle, but the war still rages' kind of thing. Just curious. :)