Author Topic: 15,000 books in two months, 32,000 books first year. Advice for newbies!  (Read 70382 times)  

Offline markhealy

• Brisbane, Australia
    • View Profile
Congrats, and thanks for the advice!

Mark R. Healy |  Website | Hibernal (Sci-fi Music Project)

Offline Kee

• View Profile
How many times do you run ads on Freebooksy? 
How many days, weeks apart? 

I am a newbie with only one book out in my series and book #2 should be out this month!  ;-)  Do I make Book #1 free even though I have only 2?  #3 & #4 will hopefully be out by the end of the year.  They are full novels. Thanks so much! You are an inspiration!

Offline anniejocoby

• View Profile
Good morning, peeps! I woke up and saw several questions, so I will go ahead and answer them. Love it! I just love to help others, so thanks so much for your interest and questions!

HY - here is what I think about free books. And this answer is going to be long and convoluted, so bear with me...Anyhow, here is the thing. With a new author, you pretty much have to either price your funnel book at .99 or you make it free. To me, .99 just sucks for soooo many reasons.

1) It's a BARRIER TO ENTRY. Yeah, it's .99, big whoop, right? Wrong. No. Any money at all is a barrier to entry, no matter how small. Think about it. I get my BookBub email every day. Most days I don't open it up, but on days that I do, I skim for what's free and download it. Because it's no big deal, except that it clogs up the Kindle. Then, I only buy a .99 book if it is really flipping intriguing to me, and, even then, I'm hesitant, because I'm kinda cheap that way. Or think about it in terms of music downloads. You might find really cool bands because you were able to pirate a song or two by them and find that you like them. But think about that same new band and you have to pay for their songs. You probably aren't going to do it. It's all psychological. People like free. If you make them pay any amount of money, they're probably like "eh."