Author Topic: Developmental Editor for Hire  (Read 3039 times)  

Offline TheIndieEditor

• Raleigh, NC
    • View Profile
    • TheIndieEditor.com
Developmental Editor for Hire
« on: January 12, 2015, 02:04:38 PM »
Hi, everyone! I'm an editor with five years of general experience and three years of full-time freelance experience. I offer developmental editing, copy editing and proofreading. My recent projects have included science fiction, horror, fantasy, romance, erotica, humor and literary fiction, and some nonfiction work including religious and self-help projects. Here are some details about my services:

Developmental editing: Developmental editing focuses on improvements which can be made to your story itself so that it is internally consistent (characters always in character, facts checked, narrative flows well and makes sense, and so on.) Think of this as rough draft editing - you send me your rough story, and I give it back to you with every single possible problem I can find within the story annotated, along with paragraphs of written suggestions and advice for making your story the best that it can be. As this process is entirely story-centric and implies a significant deal of rewriting, proofreading is not included with this service.

Developmental consultation: Developmental consultations are designed for authors who are struggling to finish or even start a manuscript, and who need some real hands-on support. I will work with you over Skype to get your story moving, to provide a structure to get your work on track, and to provide any other support you need as an author to turn your draft into a published novel! I can help you brainstorm new ideas, help you with the technical aspects of your writing, and can help you identify your strengths and unique writing style to move you toward self-confidence, self-efficacy, and publication.