Author Topic: How I got my best release ever (Book 2 release update)  (Read 11391 times)  

Offline J.A. Cipriano

• View Profile
How I got my best release ever (Book 2 release update)
« on: February 09, 2016, 10:36:35 AM »
Here's a link to the book 2 release update. http://www.kboards.com/index.php/topic,230741.msg3240531.html#msg3240531

Here is a link to the 30 day update. http://www.kboards.com/index.php/topic,230741.msg3234822.html#msg3234822

The original post is below.

Let me start off by saying. I'm apprehensive to share this post, but at the risk of sounding like everyone else, I wanted to write a post on how I just had my best release ever in the hopes that maybe it will help you guys too. It was for the book Cursed in my sig.

Let me give my story, very briefly. In my opinion, Im an okay writer. Im not going to give you Shakespeare or Stephen King, thats for damn sure. I published fifteen novels at about 800K words last year, and all that got me was to about 500 sales a month. Ive been there since July.

My best selling series is my Lillim series. It accounts for about 80% of those sales. When I released Wardbreaker, a prequel to my Lillim series in October 2015, it sold all of 8 copies at $2.99 the first day. Two weeks later, when I released Mind Games, the sixth book, it sold 6 copies at $3.99.

Those have been my best releases to date. Woo, pop the cork on some champagne and gas up the yacht!

That was when I began retooling. If 2015 was the head to the grindstone and keep writing year, well, 2016 was going to be that but smarter!

I began planning in November. I went to a gun range in Reno and had a sheep-dipped navy seal who could kill me by blinking teach me all sorts of stuff except, you know, how to seduce librarians. I then read some best sellers in UF Id put off because I didnt want to be thought of as a copycat and realized something. Their books were way better than mine.