Author Topic: Let's Talk: Newbie to Newbie  (Read 2841 times)  

Offline AlexaKang

• View Profile
Let's Talk: Newbie to Newbie
« on: February 23, 2016, 05:38:57 PM »
I want to write this post because (1) I have learned so much from everyone here, and I hope this is my way of giving something back-- Kboard is the single most helpful resource for me in becoming a self-pub writer, and (2) I'm a newbie. I see other newbies here trying to find their way. While the more experienced and successful writers offer a lot of valuable advice, there are times when their advice are way too advanced for me. Using skiing as an analogy, what works on the black diamond isn't always applicable on the bunny hill, and on the bunny hill, we're just holding onto our lives trying to stand upright. Sometimes we need help with the most basic things that are not longer on experienced writers' minds, or the issues didn't exist when they started out years ago.

I released my debut novel exactly one month ago: Book 1 in a 4-book series. What I'll share are things I learned in the process and likely will be most useful to newbies looking to release their first book in their first series, but some parts may help other newbies releasing their first book anyway. I'll share my thoughts in 2 parts: (a) nuts and bolts suggestions, and (2) my own insights on the business side of things, which you may or may not agree with, but may be fruits for thoughts.

N0uts and bolts -- I won't discuss topics that are discussed ad nauseum already. I'll share things that I have not seen posted here: