Kindle Forum banner

Denise Barker, COPY EDITOR, 2008 to Present (first 5.5 years with Harlequin)

18K views 159 replies 6 participants last post by  Denise Barker 
#1 ·
Want to better communicate with your reader? Hire me as your copy editor, aka the grammar and spelling police, but I'm so much more. In my former career, I was a legal assistant. That experience serves me well in this my second career, where I can share with you any of my concerns that may need an attorney's input. Plus, when I have projects, I work every day of the year. Happy to do it too.

I am also available to do developmental edits. My current rate is $0.007/WC (per Microsoft Word's tally).

As a US copy editor, I've worked the traditional publishing arena as well as the Indie-pubbed side. As an Indie author myself, I have a real heart for making Indie authors' work outshine the trad-pubbed books. While I may have started in the romance genre when working with Harlequin, I have branched out to encompass so many other genres: sci-fi/fantasy, thriller/suspense, mystery, self-help nonfiction, memoir and more.

CURRENT AVAILABILITY: As of 05.17.2019 at 12:30 p.m. CST, I'm currently in one of those rare pockets of time with nothing left in my queue. Everything seems to be backlogged (more than usual) per the authors I deal with. Can't say how long this will last or how slammed I will be all at once when the jam is cleared in the production process. I still have another twentysomething titled projects expected to reach me in 2019. HOWEVER, I do pad my deadlines on each and every project to allow for eventualities (internet outages, sickness, etc.). So, with each project I finish early, I can then move ahead to the next one and finish it early. Rinse and repeat until my queue is empty. Contact me directly at LivingTheDreamPublishing@gmail.com or at BarkerDeniseAnn@gmail.com at any time for my current status, as any delays in ETAs of projects can lead to a week off for me a couple times a year.