Author Topic: Ideally, how far in advance would you publish and promote "seasonal" books?  (Read 315 times)  

Offline Liadan

• View Profile
First, many thanks to everyone here; I've been lurking for about six months and have been greatly helped by your willingness to share what you've learned.

I'm finishing up a couple of nonfiction books that I think could be usefully promoted as graduation / beginning of school purchases.  From your experience both as authors and purchasers of books, how far in advance of a particular "season" do you think it makes sense to begin promoting items? 

Also, is there any drawback you can see to publishing the books before that point, and simply waiting to invest in advertising once the appropriate time of year approaches?

I'd be glad to hear any advice on how you would approach this for fiction as well: for example, if you've done Halloween-specific books or are planning Christmas ones?  I'm just getting started in fiction, but would value knowing as I plan for future years.  Thanks!

Offline ThomasDiehl

• MGladbach, Germany
    • View Profile
I am answering more as a reader. I have not done a book connected to a specific event except for the Jurassic Park title that was published the day before Jurassic World started in US cinemas and even then, that was because I could not include Jurassic World itself before I had seen it myself (thank the powers that be for timezones and movies starting a day early in europe).
But yeah, sometimes circumstances force a very specific timeline.

In general, I think there are such and such events.
Major holidays like Christmas, Halloween, to a lesser extend Thanksgiving and Easter tend to get stretched into a season starting about a month before the holiday itself comes around. In those cases I'd say promote about a month early to cover all of the season. Also, do not wait for the holiday itself to publish, people might grow impatient or even tired of the month-long holiday.