Author Topic: Promo post: YA fantasy launch - Can I move up from prawny to...?  (Read 3286 times)  

Offline Megan Crewe

• Toronto, ON, Canada
    • View Profile
Promo post: YA fantasy launch - Can I move up from prawny to...?
« on: September 12, 2016, 12:32:40 PM »
What is the next level up from prawn, anyway? ;)

BACKSTORY: I have two self-pubbed books out under this name (a re-released trad-pub book gone OOP and a follow up to a trad-pub series) and four under a pen name, and unless I'm running a promo I'm lucky if any of those sells more than a copy or two a week. But for the past several months I've been getting ready to launch my first completely indie title under this name, and I would like more for this one. A MORTAL SONG is a book I've been writing and then revising on and off since 2009, which my agent didn't feel fit the current trad-pub market or my backlist well enough to put on wide submission, but now that I have some indie experience under my belt, I decided it was time to finally get it out into the world.

I know conventional wisdom is that, generally speaking, books don't really gain traction unless part of a series with at least a few books out. But SONG is a standalone, so it seemed that my options were either throw a bunch of promo at it during launch hoping I could give it enough momentum to make it sticky on Amazon (which I have seen happen for some series starters and standalones, so I know it's possible) or toss it out there to flounder alone. After everything I've invested in this book, in terms of time, emotion, and finances (editing, cover, etc.), I felt I needed to give it the best possible chance to succeed. So join me in seeing how well (or not) that goes.  ;D