NetGalley

Author Topic: giving books away  (Read 742 times)  

Offline katie78

• Tucson, AZ
  • I'm a hybrid author with several published novels.
    • View Profile
    • Katie O'Rourke
giving books away
« on: January 29, 2018, 04:47:05 PM »
i've heard writers argue the pros and cons. either we're devaluing our work or we're laying the necessary ground work. i think people don't understand HOW to do it as part of an overall strategy.

1. if you only have one book, it may not be worth it.
2. getting reviews isn't the point, but isn't impossible.
3. you gotta get backmatter working.
4. it has better success when given through a newsletter.

agree/disagree?

Edited to remove link. Drop me a PM if you have any questions. - Becca
« Last Edit: January 29, 2018, 05:58:55 PM by Becca Mills »

Offline Lorri Moulton

• Author of Romances, Mysteries, and Fairytales
    • View Profile
    • Lavender Lass Books
Re: giving books away
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2018, 04:52:04 PM »
Are you talking about a book that is always free or making a book free occasionally?

Author of Romances, Mysteries, Fairytales and Historical Non-Fiction.
Lorri Moulton | Website | Amazon | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Books2Read

Offline bmcox

• California
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2018, 05:57:33 PM »
I am considering giving away all my short work that I stockpiled over the past several years. In 2012, I started self-publishing (and hanging out here) but in 2014 I abandoned it to pursue trad publishing once again. I did this mainly because I was teaching college level creative writing and was hoping to get a small book contract or two somewhere which would help me look more competitive for full-time tenure track positions. Needless to say, lots of out right rejections or like your work but isn't a fit. I've attended competitive workshops, had great teachers, lots of encouragement, but no such luck with traditional book publishing or journals.