Author Topic: New Author Publishing and Preparation  (Read 355 times)  

Offline Amras

• View Profile
New Author Publishing and Preparation
« on: April 21, 2017, 07:22:22 AM »
So I am brand new to writing, like completely. Im actually an Engineer with a creative mind and a love for Fantasy and wanted to turn my idea that has been building for many years into a book. Of course having a mind for Mathematics and Science while lacking in proper writing, trying to turn thoughts into words turned out to be a pretty big challenge.
However, I am now on the final chapter of writing the book and I decided to check out some ways to publish it. I thought that would be the easy part, but I was sure wrong.

Through my research into publishing a book, I found a blog that directed me to this website. I have learned a lot while reading through this forum, but I still have so many questions.

With my research I found its best to avoid publishing companies and might be better to self-publish. They said most publishing companies take control of your book and demand certain changes be done to the book and you must comply. So you lose all rights and control of your book. Which most times end up completely changing the structure of the book.

So I began checking out self-publishing, to which I found there is a lot involved. Such as:
-If self-publishing do you need a lot of expensive software? I am not sure what is involved but have been reading you need a bunch of different softwares to properly format your book.  You cant just prepare it all in word doc?
I thought it was just getting the layout correct. Like making the page sizes proper book page size.

I have a few more questions, but so I don't overwhelm myself, I will take them one question at a time.

Offline Amras

• View Profile
Re: New Author Publishing and Preparation
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2017, 07:32:58 AM »