Author Topic: Anyone here have an MFA in Creative Writing?  (Read 3252 times)  

Offline Usedtoposthere

• View Profile
Re: Anyone here have an MFA in Creative Writing?
« Reply #50 on: March 09, 2018, 01:48:25 PM »
When we moved back to my home town, I contacted the head of the English dept., who also runs the MFA program, at the local university (which is the major university in the state), and offered to come talk to students anytime. I have a four-book series set in the town, it's traditionally published, and it's sold quite well (top rank #8 in the Amazon store). I'm a very successful author by most people's measure. Oh--I also mentioned that my father was the head of the Foreign Languages and Literature department at said university, and that I grew up in town.

Was he interested? Three guesses? NO. I immediately got back a "Don't call us, we'll call you." He added that, "Perhaps some of our students might be interested in hearing about genre fiction. If they are, I'll let you know." That was about a year ago.

That's why I'd never get an MFA. :) I have a (writing-intensive) B.A. in History from Berkeley and an MBA (also writing-intensive) in Finance and Marketing, plus almost 25 years' experience in editing, marketing, and the business side of legal and educational publishing, and all of that has served me pretty well as an indie author.

If you burned to be a literary fiction author and you wanted to teach, though, obviously it makes sense. (Though perhaps not in terms of ROI.)

Offline LilyBLily

• View Profile
« Reply #51 on: March 09, 2018, 02:29:45 PM »