Author Topic: Exploring the cozy mystery genre (aka having an identity crisis)  (Read 1435 times)  

Online Piano Jenny

• View Profile
I decided to indefinitely take some time off from writing a few weeks ago because I was feeling frustrated, stressed out, and unsuccessful.

Part of the problem is that, after four books, I feel like I still havent found the right fit. My first book was purely what I wanted to write, no careful attempt to fit in a genre. It didnt do too well, and got mixed reviews.

My second book was Nonfiction. It got nothing but good reviews, but virtually nobody is interested in reading it. Its too bad, because I thought it was pretty good and I enjoyed writing it.

After that I studied genre more and thought that clean romance was the best fit for my interests and voice. I wrote a book that did pretty well. My most recent book did okay and doesnt have bad reviews, but it had an 18 year old protagonist and I think was a little more chick lit than romance, and didnt take off as well as Book 3 did.

Right now (well, before I stooped to take time off) I was writing another clean romance to be more like my third, most successful, book. But its just ... a struggle for me.

A couple writer friends suggested that maybe romance wasnt really my thing, and its true that I never really considered myself a romance readr. Most if the romances I read were for research purposes. I cant say that I truly love the genre as a reader.

Anyway ... this writer friend suggested that cozy mysteries might be a good fit for me, because my books are always short and I tend to like writing about quirky characters and somewhat humorous situtaions.

I never would have thought of that, but it sounds like an intriguing idea.

Obviously the first thing I will do is go out and read some cozy mysteries. (Any suggestions of some favorites?) And yes, Ive read Write to Market by Chris Fox multiple times.