Why not Join Amazon Kindle Unlimited 30-Day Free Trial?

Author Topic: EPUB & MP3  (Read 647 times)  

Offline cko1xxxx

• View Profile
EPUB & MP3
« on: November 16, 2017, 05:21:32 AM »
Why doesn't Kindle support EPUB for reading and MP3 for listening?  These are standards and should be supported. >:(

Online Ann in Arlington

• Global Moderator
  • Arlington, VA
  • Time for Pi!
    • View Profile
Re: EPUB & MP3
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2017, 05:30:29 AM »
Because it doesn't. And, frankly, it doesn't have to.

That sounds snippy but, really, there's no other reason.

The kindle format is based on .mobi (also a standard) and there's no good reason for Amazon to switch or to make it's Ereaders compatible with a format that it doesn't sell.

As to audible, though I have no personal experience or knowledge, I suspect it's a similar reason: "Audible" books need an "Audible" player because they're in "Audible" format, and there's no reason for them to make the player compatible with other formats that they don't sell.

I'll also note that, though Kindle only supports amazon formats, and the Oasis17 only supports audible formats, the Fire line from amazon allows you to load apps. So although it comes with the ability to do kindle books and audible books out of the box, it's dead easy to add apps to support epub and other audio file formats. And, of course, non-amazon devices -- phones, tablets, etc., whether android or apple based -- can also be used for any format with the appropriate apps installed.

My Kindles
Nautilus (Voyage)
Oasis
Hermoine (Fire HD8)
Hogwarts (KDX)
Ed's (Basic)
S7Edge (KApp for Android)
Galaxy (KApp for Android)
(Make your own reading bar) | Ann Von Hagel | Arlington, VA | kboards  MODERATOR

Offline KimberlyinMN

• NW Minnesota
  • Kindle Voyage Wi-Fi
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2017, 06:05:04 AM »