Author Topic: Share your weird or funny "I'm an author" stories and interactions  (Read 4533 times)  

Offline David VanDyke

• View Profile
I'm especially thinking of weird personal, FTF interactions, conversations when "What do you do?" comes up.

I had a weirdfunny/SMH interaction recently. I was on holiday and in an unfamiliar city. I checked online and found a barber shop with good reviews. I walked in and sat down in the chair of a young guy, mid-twenties probably. As barbers do, right after he asked about how I wanted my hair cut, he asked what I do.

I told him "I'm a full-time author."

He replied, "Okay, but how do you pay the bills?"

After a pause to decide whether to be insulted or not, I asked him "I do it by writing sci-fi books. How do you pay yours?" He couldn't believe I could make a living doing what I did.

Thereafter we ended up in a conversation about Star Wars. Turns out he was a huge Star Wars fan, a super-nerd on that one topic. But he didn't read sci-fi beyond Star Wars novels. He read Star Wars novels because of Star Wars, not because he liked sci-fi. In fact, he never asked me what books I wrote. He didn't care.

I did get a really good haircut, though, so there's that.

« Last Edit: June 09, 2018, 03:45:01 PM by David VanDyke »

Futuristic Thrillers, Mysteries and Science Fiction
David VanDyke | Blog | Website | Facebook | Twitter[/

Online Puddleduck

• View Profile
Re: Share your weird "I'm an author" stories and interactions
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2018, 01:37:34 PM »
Thereafter we ended up in a conversation about Star Wars. Turns out he was a huge Star Wars fan, a super-nerd on that one topic. But he didn't read sci-fi beyond Star Wars novels. He read Star Wars novels because of Star Wars, not because he liked sci-fi. In fact, he never asked me what books I wrote. He didn't care.