Author Topic: Share your weird or funny "I'm an author" stories and interactions  (Read 4534 times)  

Online Rob Martin

• New York
    • View Profile
    • Robert Martin Writes
Re: Share your weird or funny "I'm an author" stories and interactions
« Reply #100 on: June 14, 2018, 06:17:44 AM »
My mother was an author and published 13 Gothic horror novels back in the day. In the 70's, when I was still impressionable youth, she had me along when she was working a booth. An old woman walked right up to her and started yelling for having "smut" on display where families could see it. I mean, this woman really tore into my mother, attracting a huge crowd of onlookers, while mom just stood there and smiled. The old woman walked away and, shortly after, an old man comes up. He introduces himself as the woman's husband and apologizes for her behavior. He then proceeds to buy a copy of every title she had. Years later, while we were browsing through an old book store, I found one of mom's books and reminded her about the incident. She was surprised I remembered it. I asked her why she hadn't gotten upset. She told me she'd known  a sale was going to be made as soon as the old woman launched into her tirade. What? I didn't understand. Mom continued, saying that people who complained the loudest were generally the ones that wanted it the most. The woman had sent her husband over to buy them after, and because of the crowd that'd gathered to watch the verbal lashing, mom sold more books than she'd been expecting.

Online Jan Hurst-Nicholson

• Durban, South Africa
  • Don't let your emotions overpower your intellect
    • View Profile
    • www.just4kix.jimdo.com
« Reply #101 on: June 14, 2018, 06:49:34 AM »