mblart

Author Topic: Share your weird or funny "I'm an author" stories and interactions  (Read 4526 times)  

Offline Boyd

• View Profile
Re: Share your weird "I'm an author" stories and interactions
« Reply #25 on: June 09, 2018, 05:14:41 AM »
Let me preface this by saying I have no fashion sense. My hair nowadays is long(er) and slightly unkempt.   Same could be said about my beard when the incident happened earlier this spring. Also, I'm a cheapskate, which is why I drive older vehicles with some wear and tear on them...  I was sitting in a parking ramp, waiting for my daughter to finish up her appointment when an Escalade pulled across from me. I noticed it right away because it had a flat and the guy was running it on his rim.  I watch him get his stuff out and asked him if he needed a hand and helped him change out his tire.

We get talking while I was doing that and waiting for my daughter. At some point, the guy asked me what I do and I told him I write science fiction novels. He asked if I do ok with that, and I told him my usual reply of "Keeps me in Cheerios" cuz Boyd is flippant, yo! Anyways, my daughter gets out just as the SUV is getting back on all four tires.  The guy pulls out money and I told him that's ok, I was just being helpful, for him to pass it on. He pressed it in my hand and told me I needed it more than him.  I was a little flabbergasted and he drove off to the tire shop to get the flat fixed or replaced.  I get in the car with my daughter and find five one dollar bills he pressed into my hand.

Cheerios indeed. I find it funny now but didn't know how to take it when it happened.

Online levz

• View Profile
« Reply #26 on: June 09, 2018, 06:23:07 AM »