NetGalley

Author Topic: Share your weird or funny "I'm an author" stories and interactions  (Read 4526 times)  

Online cecilia_writer

• Edinburgh
    • View Profile
    • Cecilia Peartree - woman of mystery (blog)
Re: Share your weird or funny "I'm an author" stories and interactions
« Reply #50 on: June 10, 2018, 11:22:17 AM »
I thought I didn't have any author stories but the medical ones above have reminded me about this somewhat weird moment.
When I came out of surgery on my hip about 18 months ago, I chatted to the nurse for a while (I hadn't had a general anaesthetic so I was quite alert, over-excited if anything as I didn't have any hip pain for the first time in over 2 years) more or less as follows:
Nurse: what will you do with yourself while you're recovering?
Me: I'll probably do some writing.
Nurse: What do you write?
Me: Oh, mostly murder mysteries.
(pause)
Nurse: Let me just check your fluids.
(uncovers tube that has somehow got wrapped round my neck as I was being wheeled out of the operating theatre) Oh, look (laughs) - there's a new idea for one of your murders! Strangled in the recovery room.
(I must admit I didn't find it as amusing as she did)

Online Jan Hurst-Nicholson

• Durban, South Africa
  • Don't let your emotions overpower your intellect
    • View Profile
    • www.just4kix.jimdo.com
« Reply #51 on: June 10, 2018, 11:47:26 AM »
I thought I didn't have any author stories but the medical ones above have reminded me about this somewhat weird moment.
When I came out of surgery on my hip about 18 months ago, I chatted to the nurse for a while (I hadn't had a general anaesthetic so I was quite alert, over-excited if anything as I didn't have any hip pain for the first time in over 2 years) more or less as follows:
Nurse: what will you do with yourself while you're recovering?
Me: I'll probably do some writing.
Nurse: What do you write?
Me: Oh, mostly murder mysteries.
(pause)
Nurse: Let me just check your fluids.