Author Topic: Overseas lockout?  (Read 468 times)  

Offline oipenguin

• View Profile
Overseas lockout?
« on: June 13, 2018, 01:00:00 AM »
I'm a resident in Norway, but changed my Amazon address to a UK based address about a year ago when I discovered the price of books from Amazon.com where twice as high with a Norwegian address compared to a US or UK address. I'm using a Norwegian visa card and IP address. A few days ago I was suddenly unable to sync content both with my Kindle voyage and Android app. However I can still buy Kindle books on Amazon.co.uk. I've not received any e-mail or alert from Amazon. I've tried deregistering my Android app, but I'm unable to sign in again. I also tried to sign in with a UK IP-address by means of a VPN Client. I've uninstalled and reinstalled the app. I've not yet risked deregistering my Voyage, but I have restarted the device. All existing content is on my device, but I'm unable to receive new content from Amazon, a Norwegian book seller and articles via Kindle it.

Are my problems likely to be related to my virtual move from Norway to UK or are there any other possible explanations? How do I trouble shoot further? How do I resolve my problem? I really need to sort this out before my summer holiday.

Offline Linjeakel

• United Kingdom
  • Erm .....
    • View Profile
Re: Overseas lockout?
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2018, 04:45:43 AM »
I'm not sure there is a way to solve this to be honest. You were probably able to download in Norway despite having a UK address for a while - Amazon know people travel abroad - but if you keep on doing that, they'll know you're not actually resident in the country you say you are.

Can you download your Kindle purchases to your PC? If so, you could transfer it manually to your Kindle - a bit cumbersome but it would be better than nothing.