mblart

Author Topic: Complete newbie seeking advice!  (Read 313 times)  

Offline JDIrwinbooks

• View Profile
Complete newbie seeking advice!
« on: June 14, 2018, 05:42:00 AM »
I'm a published children's author (still writing for kids, agent trying her best), but I've written a contemporary romance with a follow-up part-way through. I'm looking for advice on how to launch my first without it sinking like a stone. Thanks :-)

Online Simon Haynes

• Perth, Australia
  • Born in the UK, raised in Spain, now Australian
    • View Profile
    • Home page
Re: Complete newbie seeking advice!
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2018, 06:07:10 AM »
Hiya, and welcome!

There have been a couple of topics on this recently, one just updated today. Let me just see if I can find it ...

Here you are! More about pricing than launching, though:

http://www.kboards.com/index.php/topic,264171.0.html

Also yWriter novel writing software & SalesScanner, a free KDP/Google/Smashwords/Createspace sales analyser for PC.

Offline CathleenT

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2018, 06:25:37 AM »
My first piece of advice is to back-read at least ten pages of threads on kboards. I did that when I first joined, and it helped me. The problem was I was too inexperienced to even know the right questions to ask.

I don't write romance, but just from reading other threads I can tell you that 1) Most romance writers here are on KU, 2) Some successful contemporary romance authors are struggling financially as of this year, 3) Marketing for KU and wide requires a different focus, 4) and a lot of people network, doing things like recommending certain books or writers to their email lists, so you might want to meet some folks in your genre.

Your question is really too big to answer well in a thread like this. I believe you should narrow the focus. I believe your first decision will be whether or not you choose to go exclusive with Amazon because that will frame the rest of the discussion.