Author Topic: An Open Letter to Amazon on stripped page reads and false reporting.  (Read 3052 times)  

Offline Lee Sutherland

• Los Angeles, CA, USA
    • View Profile
**Edited to ad data.

Hello, Kboards.  It's been a while since I've posted around here.  I lurk occasionally, but for the most part my time is spent in the groups for the genre I write in.  Over the past few months, I've dealt with page stripping by Amazon and have found no recourse in responding to their automated emails.  So, I wrote this piece and posted it on my website.   It's short and to the point, but I know I'm not the only one dealing with this.

I love writing books. I love sharing them with the world and receiving reviews and messages from people who have spent hours enjoying what comes out of my head. Ive been doing it seriously for almost 2 years now and have learned so much in that time.

I thought I would finally be a full time writer this August. That was until amazon decided to start taking money from authors without proof or data. With only so much as we see suspicious activity but that is all we can tell you. They cant tell us what happened or how it happened. They cant tell us how to prevent it. But just like clockwork, 10 days into the next month they adjust our payout. After we have spent a month funneling money into their ads based on the data they reported to us. So not only do they get the $1500 they cut from my earnings, they get the $800+ that I spent on their ads based on false reporting.

Its not right and its not good business. If you cant control people manipulating your system, which Im not entirely sure occurred on my account based on my historical data, then you shouldnt report earnings in real time. And you definitely shouldnt adjust earnings the month after.

I dont know what Im going to do. Amazon is such a big piece of the pie that it would hurt my income to quit being exclusive. But I might just have to suck it up and put my books on other platforms.