Author Topic: I now love my K1 more than ever!  (Read 22796 times)  

Offline intinst

• Shannon Hills, AR
  • 'just enough clouds to create a beautiful sunset
    • View Profile
Re: I now love my K1 more than ever!
« Reply #25 on: March 07, 2009, 12:00:16 PM »
Great post! Very informative, and the kind of thing I like to read before buying. Had an old Rocket Reader and loved it to madness, but it's dead now. Am so hoping that this Kindle thing really catches fire and takes off. Besides the convenience and economy, well, the trees are our friends.

So does it only power itself by battery? Can it not draw power from the wall? Sorry, to ask dumb question, but I'm just learning about this device.

Is it heavy? The Rocket had an oomph to it, like a smallish hardcover book. That was kind of nice, actually.

thanks for your post--
JW

You can use the Kindle plugged in if you want to while it is charging, but after that, there is no need. The charge will last several days, and you can recharge it overnight when necessary. Without a cover, the Kindle ways a little over 10 ounces. Most covers about double the total. There are hundreds of thousands of books available to read on the Kindle, with more being added all the time.
A great many people now reading and writing would be better employed keeping rabbits.  Edith Sitwell 
Your work is to keep cranking the flywheel that turns the gears that spin the belt in the
engine of belief that keeps you and your desk in midair. Annie Dillard

Located just outside Little Rock, Arkansas

Offline Cowgirl

• Gilbert, AZ
  • Member #291
    • View Profile
« Reply #26 on: March 07, 2009, 12:23:40 PM »
Yah..I feel the pull every now and then to get the k2...expecially after hearing everybody's excitement when they received theirs.  But I really really love my k1 so much so that I'm considering getting another k1 to have as a back up while the prices are falling. 

Offline KindleKay (aka #1652)

• AR
  • http://www.KindleKay.wordpress.com