Kindle Forum banner

Which cover do you like better?

7K views 43 replies 35 participants last post by  geoffthomas 
#1 ·
I'm a graphic designer as well as a writer, so I do my own covers. This one is for a book I won't release until May/June, but I'm trying to pin it down for advance promotion purposes. Which one do you like better? Either one still needs a little tweaking before it's ready for prime time, obviously, but I just can't make up my mind.

Wings:

Building:

See less See more
#9 ·
I'm going to be completely contrary and say I like #1 best. It's because of the wings. It makes me think this is a supernatural/paranormal story, and I'm drawn to those sorts of books. The second cover doesn't give me that feel at all. (So, if it's not supernatural, then I suppose #2 is the better choice.  :) )

#12 ·
j meyers said:
I'm going to be completely contrary and say I like #1 best. It's because of the wings. It makes me think this is a supernatural/paranormal story, and I'm drawn to those sorts of books. The second cover doesn't give me that feel at all. (So, if it's not supernatural, then I suppose #2 is the better choice. :) )
I actually couldn't tell they were wings at first glance. I did notice after I looked at it for a few moments. I think the building is a lot more interesting, especially since the woman's face is closer to me in the second. The wings are too dark. They'd need to be just a bit lighter for it to be readily apparent that they are wings, IMO. The shape at the edge is the only thing that made me notice they were wings.

#15 ·
Tara Shuler said: