Author Topic: Who basically writes a book a month and how?  (Read 61959 times)  

Offline Heather Hamilton-Senter

• View Profile
Who basically writes a book a month and how?
« on: September 02, 2015, 08:53:01 am »
I was just reading Elle Casey's recent blog post and it got me thinking about this concept of a book a month. I know a lot of people here write fast - Amanda, I'm looking at you! I know there are a lot of threads about writing faster, scheduling our days etc, but I would like to hear from those who specifically aim at a book a month give or take a few days, and who consistently do this through the year. And by a book, I mean somewhere in the novel range - 50,000 words and up. I'm not dissing novellas, but I'm not writing novellas, so I'm looking for advice on novels.

I'm a fast writer and this is my full time gig, but I procrastinate, I lose confidence, I get distracted by life. I also get sidelined by book cover work, but I love it and the extra income is great.

For book a monthers, how do you stay sane? How do you switch your brain from one series to another or book to another? How do you let go of a book - I'm forever tinkering. How do you have the confidence in yourself to feel a book can really be finished in a month (I know it can, but I don't feel it can)? How do you make a plan for your year and actually get yourself to stick to it ?!  ;D Does it ever feel like a drag? Is switching between series or genres the answer to keeping it fresh?

How do you handle books that require a bit more research? Give them more time or just up your productivity each day?