Author Topic: Can you write a good book in 21 days? I'm about to find out. Destroyer is live.  (Read 29693 times)  

Offline Chris Fox

• Mill Valley, CA
    • View Profile
    • Chris Fox Writes
 :)Last month I successfully completed my 21 Day Novel Challenge. The rules were simple. I had to write, and edit, a full length novel in 21 days. Quite a few people started challenges of their own, and hundreds of thousands of words were written (or in Jim's case are still being written). But here's the thing. My challenge wasn't just about writing. My challenge was also about selling.

When I started this process I was very clear that I was writing Destroyer to market. Part of the challenge was how well this book would sell, and I made the bold claim that the book would stay sticky in the top #10,000. What's more, I hoped it would crack the top #1,000 at launch. This is for an untested pen name, in a genre I have never written before. None of my books have ever cracked the top #1,000, either. I've gotten close, but #1,152 is still my best ever.

This morning, that test began officially. Destroyer is now live.

Over the next 30 days I will be documenting all the tactics I'm using to launch it. Every Wednesday I'll be putting out a video talking about what choices I made, and why I made them. I'm also doing screencasts that dissect the Amazon sales page, Mailchimp metrics, and other launch related tools I think newer authors are curious about. I'm a visual learner, so my goal is to provide something that will help people like me.

For those who'd prefer a written version I'll be tracking that here. I'm going to include rank data and sales info, so you can see how the book tracks for the entire first month. I'm an open book about this entire process, so please feel free to ask any questions you'd like. If you're following the videos and there's an area you want me to screen cast let me know, I'm happy to do that.