Author Topic: Mark Dawson's Ads for Authors OPEN -- What I've Learned  (Read 14844 times)  

Offline JustinBell1974

• View Profile
    • Justin's Website
Re: Mark Dawson's Ads for Authors OPEN -- What I've Learned
« Reply #50 on: April 02, 2017, 06:22:07 am »
I signed up for this course about a week ago knowing that I'm a prolific writer but a horrific marketer.  To all the folks saying that the information is readily available via Google, KBoards and other places, you are absolutely correct, of course it is, but it's so easy stumbling down a rabbit hole and ending up in places that really lead you in the wrong direction.

As Nicholas said, when it comes to courses like this, it's not just about the content or material, it's about the structure and being able to easily follow through Mark's fantastic step-by-step instructions.

I took his SPF101 course and I've only started scratching the surface on implementing some of his suggestions and already I've gone from around 50 downloads of my first novel (permafree on Amazon) to nearly 7,000.  Those 7,000 downloads have cascaded into improved sales for Book 2 (nothing dramatic, but a 125% increase over what it was doing) and have given me the confidence and the structure to develop future release plans.

I think having a direction is invaluable.  That's been my biggest struggle as an independent author, just not knowing the steps to take and not having any direct resources (that didn't often directly conflict with each other).  Mark's courses have been extremely valuable in setting a foundation and making me feel at least a little bit smarter and more confident about where I want to take my writing career.

This is coming from someone who is scraping the bottom of the barrel for sales ($80 earned so far in 2017  :-[ ) but as someone who only made $80 all of the last 2 years on his own work, this is a decided uptick, especially considering I've only begun putting his recommendations in place.