Author Topic: Amazon Actions re NEW Bonus Content Limits, Amazon Taking Action (MERGED)  (Read 151336 times)  

Offline DonovanJeremiah

• View Profile
I think my disconnect with all this pen name talk is that I simply don't care about authors' personal lives all that much. I don't care how much they watch hockey, or if their personal life is filled with excitement and adventure of hot air balloon rides and epic visits to foreign lands, or if they simply kick up their heels at the end of the day and binge watch Miss Fisher Mysteries.

All I care about is when is the next book due out because I want to read more.

There was an author I was following. He put out two books and I devoured both of them. I waited and waited for the third book. Years went by with no third book. I thought he was pulling a GRRM and it was just tough coming out and getting down. As a fellow author, I could empathize with that.

Finally, one evening years later, I decided to see if the third book was out yet and uncovered he suffered from severe depression and if I read it right lost the contract with the publisher because he couldn't deliver the third manuscript.

It saddened me to read that and I certainly felt for him. I hope he got help and was on the road to getting back on his feet again. That was the one time I actually cared about an author's life. I'm still very glad he didn't blast that all over his social media. Selfishly, all I wanted was the next book.

KBoards.com

• Advertisement

Offline Rick Gualtieri

• NJ
    • Renaissance Geek
      • View Profile
      • RickGualtieri.com