Author Topic: Completed manuscript put up for sale  (Read 10898 times)  

Online Max N.

• View Profile
Completed manuscript put up for sale
« on: October 23, 2018, 05:36:24 am »
So, I'm in a situation where I find myself with several completed manuscripts, but I can't do anything with them that would create a lot of value for me right now due to lack of resources.

I've been a writer for nine years, and I love it, but the problem comes with publishing since I want to make money from my work. I started with a small house publisher for some short stories and novellas back in 2015, but the publishing house seems to not be doing very well recently. It takes a year for any submissions to go through the whole process and another six months after that to get royalties, and from the eight books I have with them, my quarterly royalties have dwindled to zero. I haven't sent anything new in two years since I have to make money for my bills, I have two titles with them yet to be published after more than a year of waiting, so I probably won't be going back to them. I plan to wait for the contracts to expire in another couple years and do some rewrites and rebranding of those books, maybe expand into series, and I'm saving up for it, but I've got plenty more in the meantime collecting dust in my computer.

I started self-publishing in 2016, but the costs are so high, from editing, to cover design, to marketing, if I want the books to do well in the market. I had some friends do proofreading, no editing, then did a few design classes and made some covers myself. The books are not selling (much). I don't have funds to foot marketing costs, so I do a lot of free or cheap promotions, but they rarely help. I've earned maybe $80 from 10 titles in almost three years.