Kindle Forum banner

25 Random Things About You

521K views 1K replies 405 participants last post by  BT Keaton 
#1 ·
There's a Facebook thing going around, where people are noting "25 random things" about themselves on their Info pages. I've learned some surprising things about some of my friends, and thought this would be fun to do here.

So, what are 25 random things about you?

#2 ·
I'll start!

1. My favorite toy of all time is Lego. Not the new fancy pieces. Just bricks.

2. My first paying job was mowing the nine greens at the town's golf course, for $7 each Saturday. Other paying jobs: gas jockey, river guide, library book-sorter, programmer, and project manager.

3. I have lived in Lytton BC, Vancouver BC, Boise ID, Honolulu HI, Regina SK, Saskatoon SK, Helena MT, Montgomery AL, and Bellingham WA.

4. Career pivot-point: In 1980 my dad bought a Radio Shack TRS-80, and my brothers and I started learning to program in BASIC. I changed my major to computer science the next fall. I'm grateful that my dad's interest in this "new technology" led me to a field that I really love.

5. Best career advice I got was from a friend who talked me into joining the university's Co-op program. I learned that you can excel at a job even if you are a so-so student.

6. It took me nine years to earn my Bachelor's degree.

7. I am a middle child, an eldest son, a Virgo, and was born in the Chinese year of the Tiger. The stereotypes for each of those fit me exactly.

8. When my first daughter was born, I was so excited about all the things I could teach her. Ha! I had no idea that nineteen years later I would still be learning from her.

9. If I have a knack at work, it is that I enjoy solving puzzles.

10. I am a champion of the underdog. Evidence: I run a website for Microsoft Zune in my spare time.