Author Topic: Okay... this has been bugging me.  (Read 4340 times)  

Offline Betsy the Quilter

• To paraphrase Bill Murray in Groundhog Day: "I'm a goddess; not THE Goddess. I don't think."
  • Alexandria, VA
  • Love all, moderate all, to quote my friend Harvey.
    • View Profile
    • Betsy True Designs
Re: Okay... this has been bugging me.
« Reply #50 on: August 07, 2010, 04:48:48 pm »
I'm a writer, not a speller, dammit!  (jk ;) )
;)
Which is why the Forum software had a spell check button.
 ;D

Betsy
Goodreads Goal -- 75 books

Joined 10/27/2008  | Miss you, Harvey, Jeff & Dona!
Harvey Chute (1962-2015), KB Founder

Proud Owner: Oasis/Voyage/Touch/Basic/K1/Fire HDX    KB Member #72
Betsy True Designs Facebook | My Store

KBoards.com

• Advertisement

Offline Carolyn Kephart

• View Profile
      • Carolyn Kephart: A Writing Life
    « Reply #51 on: August 07, 2010, 05:05:10 pm »
    crepuscular decorum

Can we add matutinal and vespertine?  ;)

I'm a pitiless stickler, but only where my own stuff is concerned. There are people who can't spell or punctuate, yet still write like angels; I've met more than a few.

CK

Offline Alice Y. Yeh

• Ann Arbor, MI
      • View Profile
      • Alice Unblocked
    « Reply #52 on: August 07, 2010, 05:16:52 pm »
    I'll agree with all of the above.

With that being said, it's far worse when you find these kinds of errors in product summaries. I was browsing Kindle books when I came across a paragraph in which the author lauds his own brilliance. Unfortunately, nobody told him that "tngling" does not belong in the same sentence as "genius".

I can forgive a typographical error like that on a forum (though the hubris displayed by the rest of the sentence might kill your sale right then and there). I can't overlook the same sorts of mistakes on Amazon.

Offline Edward C. Patterson

• Allentown, PA
    • Author of 38 Published Books
      • View Profile
      • Dancaster Creative - Authors Page