Author Topic: Hello, I'm a newbie writer. I'm writing a book, and I need help or advice.  (Read 979 times)  

Offline Wmaggpie

• View Profile
I don't really know how this works but I'm making a book on Wattpad, and I have some things that I can't get off my mind. >:(

1. I change the plot very often. I always think between whether I should make my plot simple or more detailed, it frustrates me a lot.

2. I don't know if I should plan out my main character (personality) in full detail or just go with the flow without any plan.

3. There are things in my story that I should name, should it be related to its use? or can I name those things randomly, but explain its use without bothering with the name.

4. I always have this new idea popping out of nowhere, and I added it to my book. It made me feel like I'm out of inspiration after.

5. I keep reading my chapter a lot, over and over again. I always felt it lacks imagination. My mind screams I should change, change, and change.

Any advice for a beginner would help! I would appreciate it very much! - Maggy  ;D

Please help me seniors!   :'(

KBoards.com

• Advertisement

Offline Carol (was Dara)

• View Profile
    Hello Maggie. Everyone's writing process is a bit different. Some writers like to plan out their characters and stories in advance and stick to an outline, while others make it all up as they go along. The best thing you can do is to get in lots of practice, try different ways of doing things, and over time you'll figure out which methods you're most comfortable with and how complex the plots need to be for the stories you're wanting to tell. Naming or not naming things is up to you. There are no rules, except on spelling and grammar. Just follow your instincts on what feels right to you.

If in doubt, open up some books from your shelf and see how they handle introducing character details and so on. Reading a lot of the type of books that interest you is usually the best way to learn about writing.