Author Topic: I hope this isn't a silly question...  (Read 531 times)  

Offline E.B. Roshan

• View Profile
I hope this isn't a silly question...
« on: May 22, 2020, 10:14:18 am »
I'm a very new author (first book just published, second coming out later this summer) and, while I'd love for people to read and enjoy my books, I don't have money to throw at promoting/publicizing them. And by that I mean, my budget is $0. So I figured this might be a good place to ask if there are any promotional websites, etc. out there that are free and still work...at least a little bit. Any ideas?

BTW, I know if I wanted to make real money I'd have to fork out some. I'm not trying to make a living on this by any means. It's just a personal project, but since I've put the effort into creating this series, I'd like it to be read.

KBoards.com

• Advertisement

Offline Lydniz

• UK
      • View Profile
      • Credentials
    Re: I hope this isn't a silly question...
    « Reply #1 on: May 22, 2020, 11:13:35 am »
    If your books are in a series you might consider writing a short prequel then joining a promotion on Bookfunnel to give it away. A short story will act as a funnel to the paid book, and the promotion will help you build your mailing list for the release of the next book.

Offline BelindaWhite

• View Profile
    « Reply #2 on: May 22, 2020, 11:28:01 am »
    With a zero dollar budget for promotion, here is what I would recommend:

1) Make sure that you claim your book in Author Central. It helps.
    2) Claim your author profile on BookBub and claim your books there (takes a few days, but once done, people who find and like your books can 'follow' you to be alerted to new releases, etc.
    3) Create a FB Author page and share it with your FB friends. Ask them to do you a favor and share a post or two for you.
    4) Create a Twitter account for your author name. Don't over do it, but Tweet occasionally about your books with good hashtags (#)