Author Topic: Thirty+ years in traditional publishing  (Read 281 times)  

Offline MichaelPritchett

• Kansas City
  • Winner of the Iowa Short Fiction Award
    • View Profile
    • michaelpritchett.co
Thirty+ years in traditional publishing
« on: June 23, 2020, 10:50:39 pm »
True story.  I released my first self-published novella TANIA THE REVOLUTIONARY, a historical novel about Patty Hearst and Charles Manson, on Kindle this month.  I never knew anything about self-publishing until I read David Gaughran's LET'S GET DIGITAL, THIRD EDITION in May.  My daughter did the cover for my book and helped me set up a website and mailing list.  I did my own formatting.  In thirty-plus years as a literary fiction writer, I've won two national prizes and published two books and been unable to find agents or publishers for several others.  I've never had an agent, but did speak on the phone to two for about five minutes each back in the early 90s when I won my first prize.  One of them was Ally Sheedy's (THE BREAKFAST CLUB) mother.  I contacted over a hundred in an attempt to sell my historical novel THE MELANCHOLY FATE OF CAPT. LEWIS, but finally sold the book to a small press for 4K with help from a friend.  The press would not take my next novel.  About a hundred agents later, I gave up.  But I teach fiction writing and what kind of teacher would I be if I really gave up?  So I had this novella that got published online, but received very little attention or response.  So I read David Gaughran's book.  I'm not entirely sure why I took the leap, but I do know that I am submitting 100 times on average to publish a story via the traditional route.  So far I have sold 10 copies of the novella, which is clearly not noteworthy but it's better than nothing.  If you read this, thanks for reading.  If you've had any success at this, I'm listening.  Peace.

KBoards.com

• Advertisement

Offline P.W.JORDAN

• UK
    • Don't get it right, get it written-Lee Child
      • View Profile