Author Topic: Anybody else feel this way?  (Read 2697 times)  

Offline I am a unicorn

• View Profile
Anybody else feel this way?
« on: June 28, 2020, 10:58:44 am »
Anybody else struggle with motivation when putting out a new book? I've been publishing for 4 years now and I've never had the level of success I think many of us aspire to. I've never believed I would be a bestseller or anything crazy like that, so that's not what I'm talking about. I can't write 20 books in a series and pop out a new book every two months. I'm not that kind of writer, so I know hoping to be crazy successful isn't realistic. I'm ok with not being part of the elite. But there does seem to be a lot of indie authors steadily making a couple hundred dollars a month, and that's what I was aspiring to when I decided to go this route. Is that too lofty?

I've tried everything to get there. Stacking promos, listening to podcasts, reading tons of blogs, researching the market, using PublisherRocket, tweaking AMS, Bookbub ads, Facebook, ALL those, giving thousands of books away, changing launch strategies every time...I mean everything. I've had a handful of months like that - usually launches and the month or two after. I know that money is in the genre. Millions of avid readers who haven't seen my series yet. I mean, I write romance. It's just, I don't know...maybe it's 2020 sucking my soul dry, but I can't find any reason to try with this next launch. Most authors who have had some measure of success on here will admit that there's a good deal of luck involved, and after trying everything, that's the only thing left. But I can't do anything about luck, so...WTH now? I hate to sound so Eeyore about it all, but I just wondered who else felt the same way.