Author Topic: As Authors We're Blowing It - All of us  (Read 2811 times)  

Online Shane Lochlann Black

• Lexicon Hollow
  • Write something funny by 4PM or you're fired.
    • View Profile
    • The Committee to Ban Shane Lochlann Black
As Authors We're Blowing It - All of us
« on: August 01, 2020, 03:13:35 pm »
If just the people on this board were to cooperate with each other long enough to set up a promotional list of the books we want to sell the most, we could create the greatest marketing platform in human history. 

I've been coding for more than 40 years. I could write, in a week, a search engine that could narrow down the marketable features of a book to the point where that author's readers could be targeted with pinpoint precision.  I could write a search function that could separate books by what the billionaire is WEARING on the first date. 

In a weekend I could train anyone's grandmother to write a "best books list" application on the web that would list books by genre category with a custom URL.   

We could create our own bestseller lists. As long as we established some basic ground rules ahead of time and set it up so it can't be gamed by someone trying to cut their way to the front of the line. We could market and promote our books on whatever platform we like for free forever.  Basically we would just be sharing our mailing lists. It just isn't that complicated.  We wouldn't have to write someone a $1200 check and we wouldn't have to work ourselves into a psychiatric ward to stay visible.

It wouldn't cost anybody anything. It wouldn't take a lot of work to set up. 

It would also re-establish the level playing field we were once sold.  Books would sell based on their merits and would rise to their maximum potential.  Winners wouldn't be chosen in advance.