Author Topic: How do new authors get reviews?  (Read 2837 times)  

Offline yozzrulz

• View Profile
How do new authors get reviews?
« on: December 31, 2020, 09:32:57 am »
Hi everyone! I'm a new author, but I can't seem to get reviews!

To sell books you need to reviews, but to get reviews you need to sell books! :o

I'm trying out Pubby and Booksprout right now.

I also asked some friends to buy the book and give me an honest review, but the problem is they live in Canada, and I need reviews from the US (Because I need at least 10 reviews (amazon.COM) to be able to opt-in on promo sites).  :-[

Any other suggestions?

KBoards.com

• Advertisement

Online Kathy Dee

• A pro writer is an amateur who didn't quit!
      • View Profile
    Re: How do new authors get reviews?
    « Reply #1 on: December 31, 2020, 09:42:28 am »
    To sell books you need to reviews, but to get reviews you need to sell books! :o

No, you don't need reviews to get sales; they definitely help to some extent, but you can still get sales if you've got everything else right (blurb, cover, keywords etc).

Booksprout may help, but the way I did it was to keep offering my books for free until I got all the reviews I needed. Some people will tell you that offering your book for free will attract 1 star reviews, but that again need not be the case. If your book is good, you'll get good reviews.

Offline jm2019

• View Profile
    « Reply #2 on: December 31, 2020, 10:30:51 am »
    Patience, new author :)

1. Make sure all other elements are in place (cover, blurb)

2. Do some light advertising, giveaways, etc to get the hands in people's books

3. In the back-matter of your book, have a page that politely requests people to please leave a review or even a rating

They will come, slowly. There is no magic to getting legitimate reviews... it's simply a function of (# of copies read x % who leave reviews).

Offline unkownwriter

• View Profile
    « Reply #3 on: December 31, 2020, 11:26:40 am »