Author Topic: Some advice on book covers for new authors  (Read 3996 times)  

Offline jb1111

• PNW US
    • View Profile
Re: Some advice on book covers for new authors
« Reply #25 on: January 09, 2021, 03:15:18 am »
Interesting thread. I think a lot of the expense may depend on the genre. If one is starting out, it's probably a good thing for them to look over the competition and at least match the cheapest cover designs that actually sell, and then perhaps go up from there.

KBoards.com

• Advertisement

Offline Stagewalker

• Kissimmee Florida
      • View Profile
      • Stagewalker Enterprises
    « Reply #26 on: January 09, 2021, 07:32:02 am »
    Colleagues, I am an amateur photographer. I am comfortable with Photoshop Elements and AutoCadd. I created all the covers for the books you see in my signature. They all include manipulated photos I took or requested permission to use. Some include elements created in AutoCadd  I did this because I could. Not everyone has access to the photographic subjects I have in my area.

In retrospect, I probably would have been better off hiring a professional cover designer, but these covers cost me only my time.

Look at the covers and decide.

Bob

Robert H. Cherny

Offline Doglover

• Cambridge, United Kingdom
    • If you want real love, buy a dog.
      • View Profile
      • Margaret Brazear Author
    « Reply #27 on: January 09, 2021, 07:41:22 am »
    Colleagues, I am an amateur photographer. I am comfortable with Photoshop Elements and AutoCadd. I created all the covers for the books you see in my signature. They all include manipulated photos I took or requested permission to use. Some include elements created in AutoCadd  I did this because I could. Not everyone has access to the photographic subjects I have in my area.

In retrospect, I probably would have been better off hiring a professional cover designer, but these covers cost me only my time.

Look at the covers and decide.

Bob