Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - setherd

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
26
Whoa! I'm not trying to tell them "this is how you have to do it." I love Scrivener but I agree some users get a little "preachy" about it.
I just want to highlight some options they may or may not know of. I'm hoping that as I'm looking for things to talk about I'll find new things as well.

Shane, it's supposed to be technology.

Evernote, Another good one to talk about.
Text to speech, I'll talk a bit about that (although I haven't found a version that doesn't make my ears bleed)

thank you everyone!
 

27
The local branch of my state writers group has asked me to give a presentation in a couple weeks on technology available to help writers.
I'm looking for ideas!!!!


So far I plan on talking about having a backup plan in place first. That would include talking about things like dropbox, google drive, skydrive, and even dedicated backup software like carbonite and crashplan.

I think I'll spend most of the talk on Scrivener. (I think I'm the only who uses it.) Also Calibre, and Aeon Timeline ( I just recently found this).

I'm not sure if I should talk about websites or podcasts.

If anyone has any other ideas I'm open to anything!!

28
Writers' Cafe / Re: Advice - should I redo my cover?
« on: December 20, 2014, 08:33:52 am »
Just looking at it I would say YES! change it. Not trying to be harsh but I think it looks amateurish.

BUT...... You are having great success it looks like!!! Maybe get a new cover ready and if sales start to drop off update it then?
 I wouldn't mess with a good thing.

29
Writers' Cafe / Re: What Is The correct (standard) font for writing?
« on: December 18, 2014, 08:04:25 pm »
The US versions of Harry Potter used Garamond I know.
I've often wondered what makes a particular font better than others for a book. I'd love to hear more input!

30
good find!

31
What Karina said!

Wait for your second book at least then try that.

32
It's helped me get organized because I can have one place with my writing, my notes, my research, my character outlines. before things were just a mess. a lot of info was from bookmarked websites for example and with scrivener I can have those right in with my project to easily reference.
The one thing I haven't figured out how to do is a timeline.

There is a learning curve but I think it's worth it.

33
Writers' Cafe / Re: Three New Cover Reveals - Thanks KB! (The Punk Series)
« on: November 09, 2014, 05:58:26 am »
Very good!! I love how you can see a consistent branding!

34
Let's Talk Kindle! / Re: Generic Kindle software question
« on: November 02, 2014, 05:45:52 am »
Thanks!

35
Let's Talk Kindle! / Generic Kindle software question
« on: October 31, 2014, 07:17:05 pm »
I still have a nook e-ink reader. It works great but I have been thinking about moving to a paperwhite.

One of my pet peeves with B&N nook is that in my library it put samples of books that it thinks I want. it's really frustrating when going through books and suddenly there are 2-4 books I don't remember being there and I have to squint to see the little "sample" banner.

Does the kindle do this? I don't care about ads. What I don't what are books that aren't really mine mixed in my library.

36
Writers' Cafe / Re: Kind of a cool Wordpress Widget
« on: October 31, 2014, 05:33:55 pm »
cool but it took forever to load for me. I thought my web browser had locked up. I use chrome if that helps.
it finally did load after about 30 seconds.

37
I use scrivener. For my critique group we submit to each other in DOC or RTF format.

What I have been doing is opening up scrivener and then either importing the doc/rtf file into scrivener and using the side by side windows to go through each document at the same time, or opening up the critique in MS Word and going back and forth between Word and Scrivener.

I was wondering if anyone had a different or better method they use? It seems like I lose my place often. When you have multiple critiques to deal with it sometimes gets confusing. Especially after I make changes.

38
He was recently on the Rocking Self publishing podcast as well. Awesome interview!

http://rockingselfpublishing.com/65-starting-a-self-publishing-career-with-david-gaughran/

39
I've wondered the same thing.

40
Writers' Cafe / Re: Has anyone not been paid by nook in August?
« on: September 08, 2014, 06:54:08 am »
OK , thanks for clearing it up!

41
Writers' Cafe / Nook -- Delayed payments -- MERGED THREAD
« on: September 08, 2014, 06:16:54 am »
http://the-digital-reader.com/2014/09/07/nook-press-misses-payments-authors-left-explanation-support/

It says there that some authors haven't been paid and can't get a response from Nook Press.
has this happened to anyone here?

42
anybody? Bueller?

43
I've never been to a con and want to go from what I've heard about some of them and the opportunities to meet other authors. I'm not sure there's much for writer's at this one.
The website is horrible. It doesn't tell you when they events are.

I'm just wondering if anyone had been to it and knew anything else?

44
Writers' Cafe / Re: I am Surprised No One Has Mentioned A.G. Riddle
« on: July 07, 2014, 11:04:34 pm »
So Funny, I literally just discovered him about 30 minutes ago while browsing Amazon and thought the atlantis books sounded like a good read!
Then I come here and find this thread!

Congrat A.G.!!!

45
I'm glad it worked out and thanks for updating the thread!

46
Writers' Cafe / Re: Reviewer does not like my blurb
« on: June 25, 2014, 12:34:21 am »
Sorry I think the blurb sucks. It does tell me enough that maybe the book is interesting but i'd be hesitant to buy. I like what lummox JR says above.
I'll try to be helpful....

" Two joggers enjoy a hit of caffeine before work." I'm a little confused here... joggers and coffee don't mix in my experience. Are they coworkers? If so maybe just say " Two coworkers enjoy a hit of caffeine before work." or maybe just two friends enjoy a cup before work...


"But on this morning, the cafe and the people inside are suddenly transported millions of years into the past."
too abrupt, and simple. maybe make it a little teasing and not reveal everything??? just a thought.

"Ten strangers find themselves in the world of Triceratops horridus and Tyrannosaurus rex. Three survivors compete for leadership of the group, while another plots to keep them all in the past. Tim only wants to find out what caused the disaster and how to get home."

maybe just one dinosaur name? again I think you need to have some mystery here. I feel like the entire book will be about a leadership fight (boring) bad guy wants to stay in the past (interesting, why??? I want to know) Tim wants to get home (duh, maybe give him a reason here why he has to get home???

"THE DINOSAUR FOUR is a fast-paced action-adventure mixed with carnage and suspense in the tradition of JAWS, THE MIST, and JURASSIC PARK."

In general I don't like when authors do this but I do feel it sometimes helps you understand a books style, especially for an unknown author.

hope this helps, it's just my opinion. Congrats on the great reviews so far!!





47
Writers' Cafe / Re: Choosing an editor -- looking for author input
« on: June 23, 2014, 10:25:37 pm »
Even if you don't go with him, check out the Rocking Self-Publishing Podcast with Harry Dewulf.  Your head will explode with great information about editors and editing and what it entails and what to expect, up to and including pricing.

http://rockingselfpublishing.com/episode-12-effective-editing-harry-dewulf/

yes! that was an excellent episode!

48
Writers' Cafe / Re: My Bookbub + Experiment
« on: June 21, 2014, 07:46:25 am »
WOW! I'm sorry you have to go through this! that sucks!

49
Writers' Cafe / Re: Upload just in kindle?
« on: June 19, 2014, 02:42:27 pm »
yes

50
What kind of editing do I need.... and then how can I know I am working with a good editor.
and book covers.
I actually have a good handle on the technical side of things, htat's not to say Ive finished my website or mailing list yet but I have no fears about it.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4