Kindle Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
It sounds like an interesting idea, although I think authors might be put off if you're planning on selling their books directly, as no doubt that means you'll want a cut of the revenue and it's another place to keep track of when it comes to adding books / calculating royalties and sales.

I'm a web developer too (well, I'm a full-time author at the moment, but keep my hand in), so I'm trying to figure out how you'll make it work, and what benefit it would have to readers / writers over all the other sites out there where they can promote their books. I already find it difficult enough to keep track of places like Shelfari, Goodreads, Book Blogs, e-library and co when it comes to my books. Having said that, I'm about to create a site for where I'll invite authors in my primary genre to share their book blurbs / excerpts / purchase links in a co-op fashion.

I imagine this is going to be a lot of work for you, so I guess you have to weigh that up against what you'll expect to get out of it, and also factor in how much time you'll have to dedicate to the site each week with your job and writing too.

Back to my original query. Will you be selling books direct on your site and taking a fee?

Felicity Heaton

·
Registered
1,873 Posts
felicityheaton said:
It sounds like an interesting idea, although I think authors might be put off if you're planning on selling their books directly, as no doubt that means you'll want a cut of the revenue and it's another place to keep track of when it comes to adding books / calculating royalties and sales.