Kindle Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Who created the British Commandos?

Who led the very first British Commando raid of WW II into occupied France?

Who was the secret head of all British military clandestine operations in the Far East before the fall of Singapore?

And who, as the acting Commander in Chief of all remaining British forces in Sumatra, personally surrendered all British forces on the island to the victorious Japanese Army?

The answer?

One man.

Col. Alan G. Ferguson Warren - one of the great unsung heroes of the Second World War.

In this brilliant biography, Ian Skidmore tells his amazing story.

After spending the pre-war years as a pilot hunting pirates in the China Seas, when the war broke out Warren volunteered to go into occupied France after Dunkirk to look for any stragglers left behind in the British retreat.

But the submarine which was to take him off the beach failed to appear. Undaunted, Warren stole a dinghy and rowed it back to England.

It was the first Commando raid - and the beginning of a whole new type of warfare.

Posted to Malaya as Head of Special Services Warren organised raids behind the lines. As the Japanese rolled across the Pacific, Warren ran the evacuation of Penang Island and the destruction of military stores in the face of the oncoming enemy. And he created an escape route across Sumatra, along which thousands of troops fled when Singapore fell.

After he was finally taken prisoner Warren commanded British slave camps on the Burma-Siam railway. Had the Kemptai - the feared Japanese military police - discovered his identity he would have been shot since there had been a price on his head since the early days in Malaya.

Warren's story is a classic tale of WWII courage, fortitude, ingenuity and resilience. It is perfect for fans of Ben Mcintyre's Agent Zigzag and Operation Mincemeat.

'The Corps owes a debt to Ian Skidmore. [The book] is easy and quick to read and should become part of every young officer's reading' - The Globe and Laurel, the official journal of the Royal Marines.

All royalties from this book will be donated Royal Marines Charitable Trust Fund.

Ian Skidmore is the author of more thirty books - many of them best-sellers. He was also one of the most widely-read newspaper columnists and radio show presenters in the UK. After thirty years with BBC Wales, he was awarded the coveted Golden Microphone Award.

DOWNLOAD NOW FOR 99P:
http://www.amazon.com/Gentleman-Commando-ebook/dp/B00BDPZU0G/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1361957526&sr=1-1&keywords=gentleman+commando

 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
67,449 Posts
Welcome to KindleBoards, and congratulations on the book! :)

This is just a friendly reminder that KindleBoards is a Readers and Kindle Fan forum. Authors are always welcome to post anywhere but, as you browse the 'boards, please keep in mind that self-promotion, of any sort, is ONLY allowed here in the Book Bazaar.

A brief recap of our rules follows: (Note that this doesn't mean you've done anything wrong; we just want you to have a ready reference, so post this note in every thread. :) )

--Please bookmark this thread (using your browser's bookmark/favorite function) so you can update it as we ask that authors have only one thread per book and add to it when there is more information. You may start a separate thread for each book (or you may have one thread per series of books, or one thread for all of your books, it's your choice).

--We invite you to use your book cover as your avatar and have links to your book and website in your signature. Instructions are posted here

--While you may respond to member posts to your thread at any time, you may only bump your thread (back-to-back posts by you) once every seven days. Once you've responded to a member, that resets the clock to zero and you must wait seven days to post, unless another member posts before then.

--We ask that Amazon reviews not be repeated here as they are easy to find at your book link. Also, full reviews from other sites should not be posted here, but you may post a short blurb and a link to the full review instead.

--Although self-promotion is limited to the Book Bazaar, our most successful authors have found the best way to promote their books is to be as active throughout KindleBoards as time allows. This is your target audience--book lovers with Kindles! Please note that putting link information in the body of your posts outside the Book Bazaar constitutes self promotion; please leave your links for your profile signature that will automatically appear on each post. For information on more ways to promote here on KindleBoards, be sure to check out this thread:
Authors: KindleBoards Tips & FAQ.

All this, and more, is included in our Forum Decorum. Be sure to check it from time to time for the current guidelines and rules.

Thanks for being part of KindleBoards! Feel free to send us a PM if you have any questions.

Betsy & Ann
Book Bazaar Moderators
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Who created the British Commandos?

Who led the very first British Commando raid of WW II into occupied France?

Who was the secret head of all British military clandestine operations in the Far East before the fall of Singapore?

And who, as the acting Commander in Chief of all remaining British forces in Sumatra, personally surrendered all British forces on the island to the victorious Japanese Army?

The answer?

One man.

Col. Alan G. Ferguson Warren - one of the great unsung heroes of the Second World War.

In this brilliant biography, Ian Skidmore tells his amazing story.

After spending the pre-war years as a pilot hunting pirates in the China Seas, when the war broke out Warren volunteered to go into occupied France after Dunkirk to look for any stragglers left behind in the British retreat.

But the submarine which was to take him off the beach failed to appear. Undaunted, Warren stole a dinghy and rowed it back to England.

It was the first Commando raid - and the beginning of a whole new type of warfare.

Posted to Malaya as Head of Special Services Warren organised raids behind the lines. As the Japanese rolled across the Pacific, Warren ran the evacuation of Penang Island and the destruction of military stores in the face of the oncoming enemy. And he created an escape route across Sumatra, along which thousands of troops fled when Singapore fell.

After he was finally taken prisoner Warren commanded British slave camps on the Burma-Siam railway. Had the Kemptai - the feared Japanese military police - discovered his identity he would have been shot since there had been a price on his head since the early days in Malaya.

Warren's story is a classic tale of WWII courage, fortitude, ingenuity and resilience. It is perfect for fans of Ben Mcintyre's Agent Zigzag and Operation Mincemeat.

'The Corps owes a debt to Ian Skidmore. [The book] is easy and quick to read and should become part of every young officer's reading' - The Globe and Laurel, the official journal of the Royal Marines.

All royalties from this book will be donated Royal Marines Charitable Trust Fund.

Ian Skidmore is the author of more thirty books - many of them best-sellers. He was also one of the most widely-read newspaper columnists and radio show presenters in the UK. After thirty years with BBC Wales, he was awarded the coveted Golden Microphone Award.

DOWNLOAD NOW FOR 99P:
http://www.amazon.com/Gentleman-Commando-ebook/dp/B00BDPZU0G/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1361957526&sr=1-1&keywords=gentleman+commando

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Who created the British Commandos?

Who led the very first British Commando raid of WW II into occupied France?

Who was the secret head of all British military clandestine operations in the Far East before the fall of Singapore?

And who, as the acting Commander in Chief of all remaining British forces in Sumatra, personally surrendered all British forces on the island to the victorious Japanese Army?

The answer?

One man.

Col. Alan G. Ferguson Warren - one of the great unsung heroes of the Second World War.

In this brilliant biography, Ian Skidmore tells his amazing story.

After spending the pre-war years as a pilot hunting pirates in the China Seas, when the war broke out Warren volunteered to go into occupied France after Dunkirk to look for any stragglers left behind in the British retreat.

But the submarine which was to take him off the beach failed to appear. Undaunted, Warren stole a dinghy and rowed it back to England.

It was the first Commando raid - and the beginning of a whole new type of warfare.

Posted to Malaya as Head of Special Services Warren organised raids behind the lines. As the Japanese rolled across the Pacific, Warren ran the evacuation of Penang Island and the destruction of military stores in the face of the oncoming enemy. And he created an escape route across Sumatra, along which thousands of troops fled when Singapore fell.

After he was finally taken prisoner Warren commanded British slave camps on the Burma-Siam railway. Had the Kemptai - the feared Japanese military police - discovered his identity he would have been shot since there had been a price on his head since the early days in Malaya.

Warren's story is a classic tale of WWII courage, fortitude, ingenuity and resilience. It is perfect for fans of Ben Mcintyre's Agent Zigzag and Operation Mincemeat.

'The Corps owes a debt to Ian Skidmore. [The book] is easy and quick to read and should become part of every young officer's reading' - The Globe and Laurel, the official journal of the Royal Marines.

All royalties from this book will be donated Royal Marines Charitable Trust Fund.

Ian Skidmore is the author of more thirty books - many of them best-sellers. He was also one of the most widely-read newspaper columnists and radio show presenters in the UK. After thirty years with BBC Wales, he was awarded the coveted Golden Microphone Award.

DOWNLOAD NOW FOR 99P:
http://www.amazon.com/Gentleman-Commando-ebook/dp/B00BDPZU0G/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1361957526&sr=1-1&keywords=gentleman+commando
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Top