Kindle Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I'm debating whether I should launch a pen name and I'd love some advice!

Some background: I've been published traditionally for nearly 8 years with 13 books under my real name. All romantic suspense/ military romance. Back when I was a baby author, I attempted to self-publish a book that I thought at the time was a paranormal romance. Since there's generally a lot of crossover between RS and paranormal, I also published it under my own name—and it flopped. Hard. So hard, in fact, that scared me away from self-publishing for YEARS.

Fast forward to now. I'm older and wiser—well, definitely older. The wiser part is debatable—and I'm self-pubbing RS. I pulled down the paranormal after I realized that it wasn't a paranormal at all. It's straight-up gothic romance. I marketed it completely wrong the first time around. So now that I'm seeing a surge in gothic romances, I decided to re-edit and re-cover it to fit the genre, but I'm wondering if I should release it under my name (which is already known for military romantic suspense) or create a pen name. If I did have a pen name, I wouldn't keep it a secret from my current readers. I'd even connect my websites. I guess a new pen name would just be more of a signal to my readers that this isn't like the other things I write.

Ugh, but the thought of "starting from scratch" with a new name is daunting. I don't know. Any advice?

·
Registered
576 Posts
I'm leaning on the side of you not using a pen name. You're right about the "starting from scratch" problem in branding and, although the genres are definitely different, there is a romance cross over here. And you have a nice backlog of books.

But only you really know your stuff to decide.

·
Registered
1,410 Posts
I can only say what I would do if it were me.