Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
334 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Kboards,

I've been trying to figure out how to write this post, which I'm doing under a secret special pseudonym. It's not that I'm a famous author; simply that I don't want to make my books fodder for any of the shenanigans that occasionally crop up.

Okay, on to business:

I started self-publishing last May. I wrote a few erotic shorts, and my first sales made me giddy. I did everything myself: covers, editing, etc. I could churn one out in half a day. My covers weren't brilliant.

I realized that the staying power of the erotic short wasn't great, and that coupled with the adult dungeon have shifted my thinking. Since then have experimented with steamy romance and paranormal steamy romance (Note: I don't recommend that everyone who wants to sell writes in these categories. More on that and writing what suits you and what you love below).

This is where I hope to raise the spirits of some people here.

We read about reviews being essential, of advertising on social media being essential to success. I suspect that they have been integral to the success of many, but I will tell you that in the last couple of months I've had many days in which I've sold 200-300 books a day, and never fewer than 100. That's mostly across just a few titles; a few short books and a couple of novel-length ones. The shorts (4500 words or so) do sell, but not enough to earn me a living.

I have few reviews. Most are good, admittedly, but it's not reviews that sell my books. I know this because one of my bestsellers got to that point with all of zero reviews.