Kindle Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Two soldiers. One war. And no victors.

Major Gary Pearson has only a few more weeks left to serve before he brings to a close a career in the British Army that has been long and violent. So many young lives have been lost that he is now just looking towards the finishing line - and desperate to get all his men across it alive.

Captain Richard Shaw sees the battle differently. To him, success in the field means glory, and glory means promotion.

If men get hurt along the way, that's soldiering.

In this brilliant, provocative novel Pearson and Shaw clash brutally in the dusty, blood-soaked killing fields of Afghanistan. This is a campaign that will be fought to the death - and in which the sanity of the men is more likely to be a casualty than the enemy.

In the tradition of 'Journey's End' and 'Tunes of Glory', 'Men of Honour' is a searingly honest, graphic account of the front-line realities of modern warfare.

Written with the insider knowledge of a former soldier turned politician, 'Men of Honour' is destined to become the classic novel of Britain's 21st-century Afghan campaign.

Patrick Mercer is author of the Anthony Morgan Trilogy, 'To Do and Die', 'Dust and Steel' and 'Red Runs the Helmand,' as well as a number of straight histories of Victoria's wars and the acclaimed novella Doctor watson's War. A military historian by training, he was decorated four times as an infantry officer and then was the defence correspondent for BBC Radio 4's Today Programme before being elected as Member of Parliament for Newark in 2001.

Patrick Mercer's books have received widespread acclaim.

'A finely-drawn depiction of battle and the camaraderie of war' wrote the Daily Mail of 'To Do and Die.

'A tremendous achievement by a storyteller who knows the humour, the fear and the frenzy of men in battle,' said Bernard Cornwell of 'To Do and Die'.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher.

Download now:
http://www.amazon.com/Men-of-Honour-ebook/dp/B00923FB32/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1357988832&sr=1-1&keywords=men+of+honour+mercer

 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
67,284 Posts
Welcome to KindleBoards, and congratulations on the book! :)

This is just a friendly reminder that KindleBoards is a Readers and Kindle Fan forum. Authors are always welcome to post anywhere but, as you browse the 'boards, please keep in mind that self-promotion, of any sort, is ONLY allowed here in the Book Bazaar.

A brief recap of our rules follows: (Note that this doesn't mean you've done anything wrong; we just want you to have a ready reference, so post this note in every thread. :) )

--Please bookmark this thread (using your browser's bookmark/favorite function) so you can update it as we ask that authors have only one thread per book and add to it when there is more information. You may start a separate thread for each book (or you may have one thread per series of books, or one thread for all of your books, it's your choice).

--We invite you to use your book cover as your avatar and have links to your book and website in your signature. Instructions are posted here

--While you may respond to member posts to your thread at any time, you may only bump your thread (back-to-back posts by you) once every seven days. Once you've responded to a member, that resets the clock to zero and you must wait seven days to post, unless another member posts before then.

--We ask that Amazon reviews not be repeated here as they are easy to find at your book link. Also, full reviews from other sites should not be posted here, but you may post a short blurb and a link to the full review instead.

--Although self-promotion is limited to the Book Bazaar, our most successful authors have found the best way to promote their books is to be as active throughout KindleBoards as time allows. This is your target audience--book lovers with Kindles! Please note that putting link information in the body of your posts outside the Book Bazaar constitutes self promotion; please leave your links for your profile signature that will automatically appear on each post. For information on more ways to promote here on KindleBoards, be sure to check out this thread:
Authors: KindleBoards Tips & FAQ.

All this, and more, is included in our Forum Decorum. Be sure to check it from time to time for the current guidelines and rules.

Thanks for being part of KindleBoards! Feel free to send us a PM if you have any questions.

Betsy & Ann
Book Bazaar Moderators
 
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
Top