Kindle Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I seem to be the champion of silly questions at the moment, but I only published my first book on Kindle in March so i am a newbie so please be kind to me.

Until I joined kindleboards, I had never heard of Smashwords and B&N and others and now am confused. Do I stick to Amazon or do I need to use these other sites as well. What are the upsides and the pitfalls?

Please can someone help me through the jungle of information?

·
Registered
99 Posts
Milly,

I don't have any more experience than you, but that never stops me from giving my opinion. I'm on Kindle and Nook, but probably 90% of my sales come from Kindle. I think that will change with the way B&N is promoting Nook, and with their new color Nook. I looked at Smashwords, Google Ebooks, and Goodreads.com but don't see a big advantage of using them at this time. I'd love to hear what others think though.

Larry

·
Registered
390 Posts
While Amazon is definitely the current market leader in all things ebooks, you're not really hurting yourself by making your works available wherever you can. If anything, it's just another chance for someone to discover you. As for Goodreads, it's more of a social networking site for readers, and it doesn't really deal with book sales directly, but most authors agree that it's a good thing to be part of.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Like Larry, my wife is seeing about 90% of her sales from Amazon. B&N comes in at about 10% for the rest of sales. Smashwords has been rather sparse overall. Since I'm the one who does all the conversion of the files, at first I thought all this extra work for a few sales just wasn't worth it. Yet as sales grow it adds up in the long run and it becoming more and more worth it.

G

·
While you don't need to use them, these other sites can help you reach a wider audience. It gives you more places where readers can find you.